Meetings 2009

February— Kiersten Madden made a presentation on the National Estuarine Research Reserve (NERR) System with particular focus on our local Mission-Aransas NERR. Following the meeting, members were invited to assist with building a Monarch Waystation at Connie Hagar Cottage Sanctuary in Rockport.

May—Bill Carr of The Nature Conservancy and Jared Laing of Texas Parks and Wildlife led a training session on flora of fresh and salt-water wetlands and rangelands of Mad Island Marsh Preserve from 9:00 to 5:00, with a short business meeting during lunch.

August—Rhonda Cummins, Texas AgriLife Extension agent for Calhoun County, presented a brief program on monofilament recycling. Members worked on individual monofilament recycling bins to be handed out to fishermen.

November—Following the Coleto Creek meeting and election, members stayed for advanced training in nature photography offered by the Victoria Photographic Club, and to assist member and Park Ranger Wilfred Korth with nature-trail maintenance and other projects.

2009 Graduation

The Class of 2009 completed training and graduated to the status of associate members on June 13, 2009. Leslie Hartman, class representative to the Executive Committee for 2009, introduced each new member and talked about the qualities each brings to the Chapter. Three members of the class have already completed enough hours to receive their initial certification: Drew Jacobs, Sharon Lang, and Marty Lang.



Sharon Ragle, Leslie Hartman, Clark Williams, Marty Lang, Claire Barnhart, Alexandra Ragle, Brenda Wilson, Drew Jacobs, and Bill Wilson

Chapter Awards, June 2009

Recertification & Milestone Pins

Members present to receive 2009 recertification pins: Larry Henneke, Robert Angerstein, Fred Lanoue, Ray Kirkwood, Kris Kirkwood, TJ Fox and Linda Lanoue. Photo: John O'Connell.

Joan Muchmore was awarded a gold dragonfly pin for 1000 hours of volunteer service. Fred Lanoue received his bronze dragonfly for 250 hours of service, and Linda Lanoue received the silver dragonfly for 500 hours of service. Photo: John O'Connell.

2009 Training Photos







Officers elected for 2009:

- President—Robert Angerstein
- Vice-President—Larry Henneke
- Recording Secretary—Kris Kirkwood
- Treasurer—Frankie Fox



Left to right: Larry Henneke, Kris Kirkwood, Frankie Fox, & Robert Angerstein